Council Table.jpg

Operating under a Mayor-Council form of government, the City of Yutan is governed by a mayor and four city council members. The mayor is elected at-large by the city's voters for a four-year term. The mayor is charged with presiding over all city council meetings. 


Council members are elected by voters from the ward in which they reside. In Yutan, 2nd Street is the dividing line for the wards, with everything west of the street creating the West Ward and everything east of the street making up the East Ward. Council members are elected to staggered four-year terms with an election every two years for one council member from each ward.

It is the responsibility of the city council members to act as the governing body of the City government in order to maintain the peace, regulate business, protect the public health and safety, 

and assess such taxes and fees as are necessary and appropriate in the exercise of these functions. 

The Yutan City Council meets on the third Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the city office. The city council may also call special meetings from time to time as circumstances dictate. During these meetings, the Yutan City Council address public questions and concerns, consider proposed ordinances and resolutions, and otherwise manage City business.

The following boards and commissions have been established for the purpose of advising City staff and elected officials or conducting a more limited scope of City business: the Board of Adjustment, the Library Board, the Planning Commission, the Community Redevelopment Authority (CRA), the Board of Health, and the Parks, Recreation, and Forestry Board.